The Design Process & Project Phases – Part 1

Building projects are divided into four phases.  The first phase begins when an Architect starts exploring ideas and prepares conceptual design plans.  The planning work is reviewed and modified for technical development and specification during the second phase.  The Architect brings in contractors for bidding (pricing) during the third phase.  After a contractor is selected, the fourth and last phase starts when permits are issued and construction begins.

The four phases are generally referred by industry professionals as:

1. Design Phase

2. Document Phase

3. Bid Phase

4. Construction Phase

The American Institute of Architects (AIA) and Architect’s Professional Practice have established guidelines for architectural services provided during each phase.  These services have related purposes, which guide Owners interests across each phase.  Architects understand every project, no matter how big or small, and how complex or simple require all four phases… no matter how short or long they take.

The next post in this series will give an overview for the first or Design Phase.